2017-05-02 19:03:00 | News
Results of 2016 Awards for best scientific and creative works summed up during solemn ceremony

On May 2 at 16:00, the results of the 2016 Awards for the best scientific and creative works submitted for the competition (declared by the World Armenian Congress, the Union of Armenians of Russia and the Ministry of Diaspora of the Republic of Armenia) were summed up and the winners received their diplomas during a solemn ceremony held at the “Home of Moscow” Center for Culture and Business of Moscow in Yerevan. Among the participants were Minister of Diaspora of the Republic of Armenia Hranush Hakobyan; President of the World Armenian Congress and the Union of Armenians of Russia Ara Abrahamyan; President of the National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia Radik Martirosyan; the Presidents of the Unions of Writers, Composers, Journalists, Artists and Cinematographers of Armenia, as well as renowned scholars, writers, artists, intellectuals and guests.

Greeting the attendees, RA Minister of Diaspora Hranush Hakobyan particularly stated the following: “Throughout history, Armenian science and culture have stood the test of time, received the highest appraisal, and today, Armenian scientists and cultural figures represent our 25-year-old country around the world. Before the establishment of the Ministry of Diaspora, the Union of Armenians of Russia would actively collaborate with creative unions. When the Ministry and the Union started organizing the competition together, we turned it into a pan-Armenian competition. Today, we are glad to state that our Diaspora Armenian compatriots are also among the recipients of the awards.”

Vice-President of the Union of Armenians of Russia Vladimir Aghayan presented the history of the awards and stressed the fact that the number of award recipients had doubled over the past ten years and that 62 participants received awards last year.

The solemn ceremony of handing the diplomas was followed by speeches by President of the National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia Radik Martirosyan; President of the Union of Writers of Armenia Eduard Militonyan; President of the Union of Composers of Armenia Aram Satyan; President of the Union of Journalists of Armenia Astghik Gevorgyan and President of the Artists’ Union of Armenia Karen Aghamyan. The award recipients expressed their gratitude for the appreciation and words of encouragement.

The event ended with a festive concert.

The 2016 Awards was thematic and dedicated to the 25th anniversary of the Independence of the Republic of Armenia and held under the title “Pan-National Unity as the Guarantee of Collective Force and Power”.The main purpose of the competition is to help increase the role of science, literature and culture in resisting the challenges of the 21st century; foster the activities of scientific and creative intelligentsia Armenia and support the revitalization of intellectual life in the country.


Events calendar





<<  2020  >> <<  April  >>
Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30
20.07.2016  |  Congratulations



Dear compatriots,

I cordially congratulate the Armenian Youth Association of California on its 25th anniversary.

25.04.2017  |  Speeches

Armenian Patriarch of Jerusalem

His Beatitude Archbishop

Nourhan Manougian, 

Distinguished Reuven Amitai,

Dear participants,


Yesterday, on April 24th, our compatriots around the world and the progressive representatives of hundreds of countries paid their deep and sincere respects to the memory of the innocent victims of the Armenian Genocide.